The Center of the Earth

The wind tore at my face, nearly ripping my scarf off. Struggling to keep my balance against the raging blizzard, I pushed it roughly back in place. As if trying to boycott my journey, the wind suddenly increased, forcing me to my knees.

Inwardly, I sighed. It was hard to think in a blizzard. I didn’t see any shelter for miles. This was truly a desolate place. But then again, the North Pole was hardly a pleasant place to live in.

My toes were starting to freeze up. And even a thick fur Eskimo suit couldn’t keep out the stinging, icy cold of the northern blizzard. Fighting against the wind, I rose to my feet slowly. My hands stung as I slapped them together in the whirling snow, trying to keep warm. I started walking, slowly, planting my staff in front of me, breasting the wind.

After wandering for what seemed like hours, I sank to my knees. An irrepresible, numbing cold overcame me. This cold was worse than the blizzard. It was the coldness of fear. I let the hard, awful truth sink in. I was lost. Miles from civilization in a region few but the foolhardy would dare to brave. My eyelashes were almost frozen closed. My hands and feet were so numb I couldn’t feel them.

I knew that if I stayed here I would die. If I walked I would also die. I decided to go on. I tried to get to my feet, only to be blown over by a fierce gust. Bowled over, my mouth and eyes full of snow, I felt like cursing. Somehow my mouth seemed thick, too thick for words. Though my senses were numbed, I knew I was freezing to death.

As though spurred on by the thought, I struggled to my feet. Bent over almost double, I shuffled through the snow, not caring where I was going. Only walking…one weary step after another…

I couldn’t go on much farther. I felt as though I was in a dark closet. A closet that contained all the winds of the earth. My dark thoughts started to envelop me.

Then, it was as though I’d stepped into another world. I fell forward on my face from the lack of pressure from the wind. My ears buzzed for a minute, unaccustomed to the half-quiet. Although I could still hear the storm around me, I was sheltered for a moment. Lifting up my head, I looked around. I had fallen into a sort of pit. Snowy walls encircled me.

As I rubbed my eyes, trying to fathom this natural phenomenon, I saw a hole in from of me. A black hole going down into the earth.

Was this the end of my search? Was this what Admiral Byrd had seen? Was this what I had been looking for all these months? Was this what I had almost died for? Tentatively, I crawled through the drifted snow, nearer and nearer to the edge. I raised myself to my knees and peered down.

There appeared to be a sort of path going down. Without hesitation, I stepped onto it. Before I vanished, I took one last look at the world I knew. Then I stepped forward and entered a world of black night.

I walked forward in the attitude of a blind person: arms stretched out in front and my head tilted up, keeping my balance in the dark. All noise of the storm had died out. It seemed as though I’d entered a timeless box. I was just an ant, crawling on forever and ever…

I walked for a long time. I didn’t know if it was day or night. I didn’t feel hungry or tired, strangely. I was even getting hot. I wondered where I was headed. What awaited me at the end of this tunnel?

It seemed like an age had passed. All I knew was that I had been walking for a very long time. My legs were about to give out. I stumbled a few steps further—and I saw a light.

It was a tiny as a pinhead, yet I knew I wasn’t seeing things. I swayed on my feet and sank to my knees. I’d rest a minute.

After a short rest, I rose again, determined to end my search. The light grew bigger. It was the size of a quarter. An apple. A beach ball. A tire. It was blinding after spending so long in the dark. I squinted. Then I reached the end.

Oh glory!! I stared unable to believe the scene that unfolded before my half-closed eyes…..

12 comments

  1. He leido desde el principio tu historia con sorpresa, entusiasmo. Que bien escribes!!!!!!!!!!!
    Estoy deseando que escribas más de esta historia. Estoy orgullosa.

    Like

    1. Translation: I have read from the beginning of your story with surprise and enthusiasm. How well you write!!!!!!!!!!! I want you to write more of this story. I am proud.
      Answer: I am really happy that you enjoyed it! I have already had other requests to write more and I will do so. I can’t say when because I am pretty busy right now, but I’ll write more soon. Thanks, Abuelita!!

      Ashley

      Like

Tell me what you think!

